Bulgaria lies in the southeastern part of Central Europe in the heart of the Balkan Peninsula and is one of the most ancient states in Europe. The population is almost 8 million citizens. The territory of the country totals 111,000 sq. km. To the south, Bulgaria borders Turkey and Greece, and to the west - Yugoslavia and Macedonia. The Danube River is the natural frontier with Romania to the north and the Black Sea forms Bulgaria's east border. The climate is temperate continental.

A network of international motorways is spread over Bulgaria in order to service the intensive traffic to West Europe, Russia, Asia Minor, Adriatic Sea, Aegean Sea and Black Sea. The river and sea transport (on the Danube River and the Black Sea) facilitate the communications and the movement of people, as well as goods and cargoes within the Balkan region.
Bulgaria is a parliamentary republic. The National Assembly elects the Government headed by the Prime Minister for a 4-year term.
Official currency unit is the Bulgarian lev ( BGL 1 = EUR 0,511).
A major objective of economic policy is the achievement of well-developed industry, agriculture and services sector.


  • Over 1300 years of history
  • Well-developed and functioning multi-ethnical model without ethnical problems
  • Centre of stability at the Balkans
  • Strategic geographic location of the country as a natural gateway to the vast markets of CIS, Asia and North Africa
  • Free trade agreements with the European Union, European Free Trade Zone, CEFTA, Turkey and Macedonia ensuring free movement of goods and services within a market of 550 million consumers
  • Stable and predictable macroeconomic development determined by the currency board introduced in 1997
  • Political stability and consensus on the main social and economic priorities of the country
  • Institutional support for investment priority projects
  • Low-cost qualified workforce in view of the EU accession


Links about Bulgaria